# Graduate Program Review Committee of the Graduate Council Teaching Academy (TA 420B)

9 – 10:30 am October 1, 2010 AGENDA

#### I. Introduction of members

#### II. Purpose of committee

Review of Graduate Faculty for Reappointment (Fall Semester)

Anthropology; Sociology; Criminal Justice, Psychology, Studio Art & Design, English,

History, and Hospitality Management

Advisory to University Graduate Program Reviews (Spring Semester)

Review of New Graduate Degree Programs (Tentative list; names may change)

PhD in Political Sciences

PhD in Communication Sciences and Disorders

Masters of Research Administration

Awards (Spring Semester)

Excellence in Graduate Teaching (faculty award)

Excellence in Teaching by a Graduate Teaching Associate (student award)

Excellence in Teaching by a Graduate Teaching Assistant (student award)

Outstanding Dissertation (student award)

Outstanding Master's Thesis (student award)

Innovative Thesis or Dissertation (student award)

### III. Review of last year's major achievements

Established process of review of graduate faculty

Reviewed 215 faculty from 13 departments w 211 reappointments

#### IV. Begin review of graduate faculty credentials in:

ANTHROPOLOGY (Primary Reviewers)

Debopam Chakrabarti, COM

Paul Dombrowski, CAH

Rich Gause, Libraries

Patrick LiKamWa, COP

Mary Little, COE

SOCIOLOGY (Primary Reviewers)

H. G. Parsa, RCHM

Harry Weger, COS

Karen Aroian, CON

Michael Caputo, CBA

Ahmad Elshennawy, CECS

#### V. Review Teams for future reviews:

CRIMINAL JUSTICE (20 faculty members)

**ENGLISH (39 faculty members)** 

HISTORY (27 faculty members)

**HOSPITALITY MANAGEMENT (30 faculty members)** 

SCHOOL OF VISUAL ARTS & DESIGN (13 faculty members)

PSYCHOLOGY: Industrial/Organizational (18 faculty members)

PSYCHOLOGY: Human Factors (9 faculty members)

PSYCHOLOGY: Clinical (7 faculty members)

PSYCHOLOGY (5 faculty members)

### VI. Adjournment

## **FUTURE MEETING DATES** (All at 9 am in TA 420B, except where noted)

October 1

October 8 (Millican Hall Rm 243)

October 22 (Millican Hall Rm 243)

November 5

November 19

December 11

## **COMMITTEE MEMBERS (2010-11)**

Ahmad Elshennawy (CECS)

Karen Aroian (CON)

Michael Caputo (CBA)

Debopam Chakrabarti (COM)

H.G. Parsa (RCHM)

Harry Weger (COS)

Patrick LiKamWa (COP)

Paul Dombrowski (CAH, Chair of Committee)

Richard Gause (Libraries)

Mary Little (CED)

Patricia Bishop (Ex Officio, College of Graduate Studies)

Max Poole (Liaison from College of Graduate Studies)